The Way We Talk to Ourselves in Our Heads

 

Here’s a question worth considering: Why do we talk to ourselves the way we do in our own heads, when it’s just us and our thoughts?  Have you ever wondered that?  We all do it.  Those silent conversations when you are arguing with yourself over a decision that needs to be made, when you berate yourself for stupid decisions, when you are pushing yourself to go a little further, work a little harder, give a little more.

Like I said, we all do it; it’s normal.  But what I mean is the other times.  Those times when you are just MEAN to yourself.  It’s like you are your own private bully.  Calling ourselves ugly names, bringing up every bad thing we’ve ever done, every stupid choice… even every honest mistake becomes another lash of the whip.

Why do we do that?  One day we are on fire, ready to face the world and change it.  We motivate others to be their best, or just to try a little harder.  But then the next day it seems as if the sleeping monster comes out.  One day you are looking in the mirror thinking nice things, admiring the outfit you have on or how good your hair looks today.  But the next day you call yourself fat, lazy, stupid, ugly… whatever weapons you use to hurt yourself.

It’s painful.  It hurts.  It makes you cry, even if it’s only on the inside.  So, why?  Why do we secretly hate ourselves so much?  No matter what level of confidence you have, no matter how good others think you are, it doesn’t seem to matter when that ugly side comes out.  Nothing really convinces you that those things aren’t true.  We have a tendency to believe one negative thing about ourselves and forget the hundred other good things in moments like these.

How do you bring yourself out of those moments?  What do you do to silence the demon?  If you have an answer, there are thousands of people waiting to hear and learn.

2 thoughts on “The Way We Talk to Ourselves in Our Heads

  1. Shell says:

    I have these negative thoughts at times. I go through days where I don’t want to see anyone or talk to them. I know I should not feel that way and I know I should not be alone with my own thoughts but what I prefer is too sleep. This helped a lot when I was reading it. Thank you, Niki!

    Like

    • CrabtreeGirl says:

      You are so welcome! I am usually a very positive person, so when these days happen, it is terrible. I have anxiety, but when I’m just mean to myself, it’s hard to understand. It wasn’t easy to write this post, but I know if I do it, then others do too. Maybe just knowing you are not alone will help!

      Like

Leave a Reply

